The Countdown is ON!

 Here at Chez Reed we are exceptionally Pro-Christmas so please feel free to ignore our blog over the next four or five weeks if your tendencies lie more with Messrs Scrooge or Grinch. Seriously, you might even need to unfollow or unfriend me. 
I meant to write this at the weekend but we were too busy slaughtering Christmas trees and I forgot! 

We spent Saturday & Sunday choristers prepping by visiting a local(ish) garden centre Cadbury who do Christmas in a big way! We had lots of fun with my sister & nephew watching the ice rink and helping to make tinsel and we finished it off with an amazing turkey & bacon ciabatta. I’m not kidding, it even had parsnips in. My idea of heaven!   On Sunday, we donned raincoats and visited our local Christmas tree farm at Frenchay where we were hunting for our perfect tree to cut down. We buy a real tree every year & it’s so exciting choosing the right one but we’d never cut one before. We’d nearly given up finding the perfect one to cut down when I stumbled upon a beauty. Each tree is named and would you believe the one we found … She was destined to come home with us!   

They are so brilliantly geared up for children, having hidden a dinosaur called Fluffy amongst the trees which you get to keep if you find (I got the impression there was a large litter of Fluffies) and a free lucky dip for the children at the end of the checkout process. Everyone who served us was so lovely, especially considering it was pouring down. Service with a smile goes a long way in my book!

Tonight we’ve set up our advent table. I don’t believe in decorations until December so this is my temporary Ode to Christmas. I’m super excited about our advent calendars this year!   

 I bought Darcey the Vtech Toot Toot calendar. Although I’m not anti-chocolate entirely I wasn’t keen on the idea of her catching onto the fact that this magical box contained chocolate so we thought we’d go with toys instead. Darcey loves Toot Toot animals so this was a perfect fit. I love that upon completion there is a whole festive scene to recreate (although I don’t know how I’m going to keep all the parts in one place!)    My advent calendar is one I won actually – it’s the Body Shop’s calendar and I can’t wait to get stuck into it! Usually I wouldn’t dream of spending that sort of money but since I didn’t pay the RRP of £60 for it, I’m a happy girl! And Nath’s is a tradition I started for him 4 or 5 years back – a scratch card a day. This year I’ve hung them from a prelit tree with some little chocolates inside. Yum! 

Our other advent countdown is with our Elf on the Shelf, Sam X (get it?!) we can’t wait to see what mischief we can help him with over the next few weeks! 

 And finally, it wouldn’t be Christmas in a Reed household without our chocolate table. It’s the best thing to come out of my marriage to Nath. His Mum and Nan do this and it’s something we’ve happily continued! My family have also adopted this now so we’re joyfully spreading the chocolatey cheer far and wide – perhaps you’d like to join!?  

I might do a weekly Elf on the Shelf roundup for those of you joining in the fun but I’m probably not going to do the same for the chocolate table … I can’t be held responsible if it doesn’t last long enough! 

4 thoughts on “The Countdown is ON!

Leave a Reply

