I don’t want a girly girl!

I don’t!  I don’t want a girly girl, I don’t want a tom boy either, I want a Darcey.

I read something recently that I really liked: “An entire sea of water can’t sink a ship unless it gets inside the ship. Similarly, the negativity of the world can’t put you down unless you allow it to get inside you.” – Goi Nasu

I’m not one for those ridiculous images with nice words that you see people share on Facebook (and honestly, this isn’t one that I’ve seen on there). However, this has resonated with me because it’s more or less my philosophy for life.  I’m not concerned or interested in the advice or opinions of people, in general.  I believe that you can’t allow yourself to listen to or believe the detractions that people seem all too happy to send your way.  I’d consider myself as a pretty laid back person who is level headed and calm and I’d attribute that to this way of thinking.  It’s this outlook that I’d like to pass on to our little girl to make her strong and resilient in later life.  Not only this, but I hope it will allow her to be exactly the person she wants to be.

I think any parent would want the best for their child but what is that?  For me, it’s this, and…

I want her to feel that she can be strong enough to say what she thinks, because she thinks that it’s right,  I want her to question everything; science, religion, things in nature, authority, teachers, friends, family, everything!

I want her to love whoever and whatever she wants. I want her to try new sports, food, hobbies and interests. I want her to travel, meet different people, see their ways of life, hear their languages and see how their culture differs from hers. I want her to live where and how she wants and with whom.

I want her to know that Kate and I will always love her, and will always be there for her when she wants us.

And obviously, I want her to listen to every word I’ve written here and to ignore every bit of it at the same time.

Leave a Reply

